Macaw is small to large in size, often colorful and beautiful birds, these birds that come to most everyone’s mind when the word parrot is mentioned. These birds are most often seen in bird shows. There are 18 macaw species and two general sizes of macaws. Macaws are native to Mexico, Central America, South, and formerly the Caribbean. Most species are associated with forests, especially rainforests, some of the macaw species are known for their impressive size. The largest parrot in length and wingspan is the Hyacinth Macaw. The heaviest macaw is the Buffon’s

This is a large parrot with long tail feathers and mainly blue and yellow in color. The forehead is green; the upper part of the body a brilliant blue; the sides of the neck and body is golden yellow. These macaws also have black around chin and cheeks, and the naked skin of cheeks is pinkish-white with lines of very small, isolated black feathers. The blue and gold macaw has a strongly hooked beak and zygodactylous feet (2 toes that point forward and 2 toes that point backward).

Size Approximately 85 to 90 cm (34 to 36 in.); wingspan 102 to 112.5 cm (41 to 45 in.)
Weight Approximately 900 to 1200 g (2 to 2.7 lbs.)
Diet Feeds on seeds, fruits, nuts, and berries
Incubation Approximately 29 days lunch Size 2 to 3 eggs
Fledgling Duration After 4 months; young then remain with parents for up to a year
Sexual Maturity Approximately 2 to 4 years
Life Span Up to 80 years
Range Eastern Panama through Columbia, Ecuador, and Brazil
Habitat Found in forests and swamps